Apple Baked Oatmeal

In the spirit of the upcoming fall season I decided to put a healthy twist on one of my favorite desserts and turn it into a healthy breakfast. Like every other girl, I have a complete obsession with fall, it’s almost the time of year where we see pumpkin flavored everything & the smell of cinnamon in every house. This is the time of year where I bake the most & so I decided to start my blog off with one of my favorite breakfasts, Apple Baked Oatmeal.

applecrisp

I can assure you that if you love apple cinnamon flavored anything than you will surely love this recipe. Its perfect microwaved in the morning with a glass  of almond milk, or if you feel like indulging a little bit you can have with 2-3 Tablespoons of your favorite non dairy ice cream (I used soy) as a tasty dessert. As with all my recipes that I will be posting, feel free to eat until your satisfied. You won’t find any serving sizes on my recipes (unless it’s labeled as a treat!), which means you can eat the whole batch if you want to. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did and rest assured there will be many more fall inspired recipes to come!

applecrisp2


Apple Baked Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 T coconut sugar
  • 3 T whole wheat flour (feel free to sub oat flour)
  • 3 medium sized apples
  • 1 3/4 T cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • pinch of Salt
  • 4 T pure organic maple syrup
  • 6 T of your favorite non-dairy milk (I used almond)
  • 3 drops pure vanilla extract
  • 3 T unsweetened applesauce

Instructions:

Start by preheating the oven to 350 & mix together in a bowl: oats, oat flour, applesauce & 3 T maple syrup, 4 T of the almond milk, 1 T coconut sugar & 1 T cinnamon in a bowl. Chop the apples into small squares and put them in a separate bowl with the remainder of the ingredients & mix together. Lightly grease a 8″x 8″ glass baking dish with coconut oil and layer the apple mixture on the bottom of the bowl. Pour the oat mixture over the apples, if the oat mixture gets sticky you may need to crumble it over the apples with your hands. Top with a small sprinkle of organic cane sugar or coconut sugar if desired and bake in the oven for 35 minutes-45 minutes depending on how soft you like your apples & Enjoy!


applecrisp3